• Friday , 24 June 2022

Thumbs Up for University Hospital Kerry ICU.

With the country in a virtual lock down clubs and sports are looking for different initiatives to keep fit and keep spirits high.

General Donations


From a cycling perspective it’s all been quite alien, especially in a club sense when weekly we’d be out and about in our groups cycling 50 to 100 km in different areas of the county. Not forgetting the social coffee and a scone in our breaks.

In an attempt to try and bring us a little closer as a club (social distancing obeyed!) and do something for the local care workers, we’ve come up with an event called “Thumbs up for University Hospital Kerry ICU “

How it works

  • Starting at 6am on Saturday 2 May 2020
  • One or two clubs members will cycle individually within their 2km zone for one hour
  • When the hour is up they give the thumbs up at distance or electronically to the next person
  • The event will go from 6am to 9pm on the Saturday with similar on Sunday if we get the numbers
  • An individual can either cycle within their 2km zone or on a home trainer in the comfort of their own home
  • Each member can send in a picture of their ride for our social media
  • Everyone who participates donates €10 to the cause

Cycling Roster – Saturday

Saturday 2 May | TimeGroup 1 | TownGroup 2 | TownGroup 3 | CountyGroup 4 | Country | World | Turbo
6-7amDavid EltonSeamus O'MahoneyJohn Murray-LisstellickGer Hobbert-Turbo
7-8Mike DennehyKerry KennellyPaul Kerr-Kilflynn | Bernie-Banna East | Karen-BallymacDavid & Shonagh Keohane-Australia
8-9 Seamus CotterSiobhan O'MahoneyPaul Byrne Mary Byrne-BlennCatherine Doolan-Turbo
9-10Seamus O'DonovanGer O'ConnellMaura Sullivan-BlennAvril Hewitt-Turbo
10-11 Christo MurrayTomas O'MahoneyGeorge Poff-Blenn | Carmel-LeithNicola O'Mahoney - Tipp
11-12Brenda ConwayTom O'Shea | Eileen O'SheaMaurice Hanafin | Martina Hanafin-BlennAidan Hobbert-Turbo
12-13John CasaparoIna McGrathMono Ryle-BlennDeclan O'Hara-Turbo
13-14Terry CullotyAidan ScanlonFionnbar Walsh-BlennKen Keohane-Turbo
14-15Tom GalvinDonal CourtneyJulie Deane-Ballymac Triona Hamilton-Dromina
15-16Denis McGuire Jennifer CrowleyPat Keohane-Spa
16-17Jackie RuttledgeRob CareyFrances Clifford | Brian O'Sullivan-Fenit
17-18George EmersonCathal FoleyMarie Louise-Kilmoyley
18-19Anne Marie Collins | Declan MurphyNoel O'Connor | Andrea O'ConnorMaeve Horgan-Ardfert
19-20Colin ScottJohn O'CarrollLorna and Donal-Spa
20-21.00Andy ConwayTomas CrowleyBrendan O'Connor | Joanne Crowley Turbo

Cycling Roster – Sunday

Sunday 3 May | TimeGroup 1 | TownGroup2 | TownGroup 3 | CountyGroup 4 | Country | World | Turbo
6-7 amBernie O'Mahoney
7-8Louis BegleyGrainne BrickEdd O'Mahoney
8-9Brian NeenanJennifer CrowleyBrendan Kelly-Fenit
9-10Ger O'HallorhanKevin & Siobhan KearneyJohn O'Regan-BallybNicola O'Mahoney - Tipp
10-11Annie HorganHugh EmersonTim Hoolihan-KilmoyleyAnn Sheehan-Turbo | Charlie McMahon-Turbo
11-12Jeremy WalshJohnny MoloneyCora Carrigg | Denis & Joan O'Sullivan-BallymacTrevor Hegarty-USA
12-13Catriona KeaneMargaret Twomey | Tom GalvinSiobhan ClearColm Crowley and Sinead Roche-Dublin
13-14Jerry QuinlanPat Keohane Xavier Murray | Lorraine Hopkins | Patricia O'Neil
14-15Catherine DoolanJohn MurrayAlan Murphy-Fenit
15-16Des FlynnDavid and Liz EltonÁine Horan
16-17Clare NeenanJohn CasaparoBrian O'Connor-BannaGer Hobbert
17-18Denis MaguireAnlaun Dunne
18-19Matt MoloneyLaurence Dunne
20-21Tomas Crowley | Darragh Crowley

Related Posts